Meet Willam from RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 4

On season 4 of RuPaul’s Drag Race Willam will be making an interesting contribution. It is a twist that the show actually has an actor participating in the cast. The question may be, is Willam playing a part to get an edge on the competition or just being himself? Let’s get to know a little more about Willam Belli.

Willam Belli Drag Race

Abby: For the people that don’t know you I have to ask about your name. Why did you keep your given name and not opt for a “drag name?”

Willam: The best ones don’t change their names. See RuPaul, Charles Busch, Leigh Bowery, Joey Arias, and Charles Pierce.

Abby: I see your point and like your self-assuredness. Willam where did you grow up and where do you live now?

Willam: I was born in Philadelphia, and I live in Los Angeles now.

Abby: You really do have some sexy legs. How do you stay in shape?

Willam: Thanks Abby. I go to Richard Simmons three times a week for cardio, toning and lifting. Richard told me I was “nothing without tone.” I get my body real damn bodied at Slimmons by Simmons.

Abby: You seem to have great confidence. Have you ever gotten stage fright?

Willam: I got stage fright while filming my third episode of Nip/Tuck. My character Cherry was just castrated by a Nazi and was being buried alive. I got hit with almost 30 shovels full of dirt while mini-skirted in a 6 foot deep grave in 40 degree weather. Honestly, the reason I got over it was Ryan Murphy giving me a hint about the next season and I was crazy happy about my return. That didn’t end up happening because the network decided to kill me.

Abby: What was your funniest experience buying women’s clothes?

Willam: I had it out with a shop girl at Vivienne Westwood when she scoffed at me trying on a gown (which I bought to wear on RPDR4). And by “shop girl,” I mean a homosexual sales man who I called a “shop girl” to her/his smug face as he rung it up. Bitch tried to say they were out of garment bags. Nope. Was not having it! So I had to say, “Listen shop girl, I’m gonna need to talk to your boss.”

Willam Belli

Abby: Who has been your biggest drag inspiration and why?

Willam: RuPaul has always been the Father, Son and the Holy Most to me. She’s been it all- singer, actor, personality, author and trailblazer.

Abby:What was the scariest thing that ever happened to you while in drag?

Willam: Someone dared me to take a pill off the ground that we found at a hotel during RuPaul’s Drag Race filming and I did. It made me sleepy and I had to pee a lot.

Abby: What celebrity would you like to see in drag?

Willam: I think Thomas Dekker would look gorgeous in drag. He’s got the flutteriest of lashes.

Abby: What was your favorite moment from any of the previous seasons of RPDR?

Willam: I liked pretty much every time Delta Work spoke her mind. Said what she wanted, repercussions be damned.

Abby: Who did you want to win RPDR from season 1, 2 and 3?

Willam: I didn’t have Logo when Season 1 aired. I was overseas filming Bloodrayne 3 & Blubberella when season 2 aired. Season 3 I wanted Raja to win. She did stuff with drag I hadn’t seen before and that’s always the most exciting for me.

Abby: What is your greatest asset?

Willam: My jaw is double jointed. You’re welcome!

Abby: Willam you kill me! I will leave your jaw alone and go further south. How tall are the tallest pair of heels you have ever worn?

Willam: 8″ steel-heeled Versace platform boots which I also wear on RPDR4.

Abby: Other than putting your fist in your mouth on camera do you have any hobbies?

Willam: I volunteer at the LA Gay and Lesbian Center a lot but only because I don’t wanna get a middle seat in Hell. I prefer a window or aisle thanks.

Abby: Where can your fans see you perform live?

Willam: The last Wednesday of the month at Legendary Bingo at West Hollywood’s Hamburger Mary’s with whatever celebrity is sober enough to read the balls. We’ve raised $4,000,000 in 14 years doing it for LA charities.

Abby: What is RuPaul’s Drag Race like?

Willam: RuPaul’s Drag Race is like my mothafuckin’ Twitter account; highly entertaining and worth following.

Abby: Other than answering these questions, what is your biggest pet peeve?

Willam: My biggest pet peeve is people who put on airs. I mean Catherine Zeta Jones would just be Cathy Jones without her Zeta.

Abby: Thank you Willam for your very entertaining answers. If anyone would like to follow Willam on his Twitter account here is the link: https://twitter.com/#!/willambelli

Photo used with permission from Logo Press Room.
Photo credit: Mathu Andersen

Leave a Reply

