Meet Chad Michaels from RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 4

Chad Michaels is no ordinary drag queen. Chad is best known for being a premier Cher impersonator. He is such a convincing Cher impersonator that he was mistaken for Cher. His picture appeared in People Magazine’s Celebrity Transformations Special Edition 2009 right alongside several pictures of Cher over the years.

 

Chad_Michaels

Let’s catch up with Chad Michaels now.

Abby: Hello Chad!

Chad: Hello Everybody!

Abby: Before I get to all of the drag questions I’d like to know a few general things about you like where are you from?

Chad: I was born in Los Angeles. LA is like a bowl of cereal, if you’re not a nut or a fruit, you’re a flake. Since I currently live in San Diego, which is of course in California, I guess that makes me at least on of the aforementioned breakfast foods!

Abby: I am so glad to hear that you have a sense of humor! You are in such great shape. How do you stay that way?

Chad: Honestly? You asked. I have a fast metabolism and I feed it cigarettes. Yes, I know. Don’t say it. My Mother already has, every day. I’m working on it.

Abby: Do you have any kind of work out routine?

Chad: I really have no kind of set work out routine. I bust my ass on stage 4-6 nights per week and I’ve always felt like that is a pretty killer workout. You try dancing for dollars in 5 inch heels every night! Talk about buns of steel lady boys and girls! Does a body good!

Abby: I have seen you perform and you always seem so self assured. Have you ever suffered from stage fright?

Chad: Oh yeah, I always used to get stage fright when I was a fledgling drag queen. I would get the shakes and dry mouth. Thank God I only had to lip sync huh? With time and experience the stage fright slowly subsided and now I’ve got balls of steel too!

Abby: Does it take balls of steel to go shopping for women’s clothes or shoes?

Chad: Oh man! This is the worst for me and the reason why I make my own costumes. I always get those nosey ladies that scrape through the clearance racks looking at me sideways or interrogating me on what I’m buying and why I’m buying it. I always say, “Don’t ask a question you don’t really want the answer to.” It all boils down to countless hilarious encounters at Ross Dress for Less!

 

chad_michaels_cher_drag_race

Abby: Who is your biggest drag inspiration?

Chad: I would have to say that my biggest drag inspiration has always been Cher! I am first and foremost a Cher impersonator. Cher’s style, irreverent attitude, one of a kind voice, unique beauty, and charitable endeavors have all made a big impression on me. I have always done my best to be the best Cher I can be! Cher is the Diva of all Divas and I draw my inspiration from the top drawer.

Abby: What is the scariest thing that has happened to you while in drag?

Chad: The scariest thing that ever happened to me in drag was meeting Sharon Needles. That’s the spookiest bitch I ever met.

Abby: I am looking forward to seeing Sharon Needles on season 4 of RPDR. Do you have any favorite moments from the previous seasons?

Chad: My favorite moments of RPDR have always been the “Lip Sync for Your Life” eliminations at the end of each episode. As drag queens, that’s what we do, we perform. “Lip Sync for Your Life” really shows what a Bitch is made of and finally gives us all that big payoff at the end of each week. Don’t f**k it up!

Abby: How tall are the tallest pair of heels you have ever worn?

Chad: The tallest pair of heels I’ve ever worn were a 9 inch stack platform boot. The most evil pair of heels ever worn was a pair of fetish patent leather ballet point shoes/heels. One is basically standing on their tip toes for the evening in these little brats! Ouch doesn’t begin…! oooh!

Abby: What celebrity would you like to see in drag?

Chad: I would love to see Ryan Reynolds in drag. He is such a hot guy but has some refined features that would make him really gorgeous “in face.” No “studio” makeup job. I mean painted and beat! That boy would be sickening!

Abby: Chad thank you so much for sharing a little insight into your life with us. I can’t wait to see you on RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Chad: Thank you! I can’t wait for you all to love RuPaul’s Drag Race season 4 as much as I loved being a part of it! See you January 30th on LOGO. Love and Gratitude!

If you would like to see Chad Michaels live you can catch him with The Dreamgirls Revue. The weekly appearance schedule is:
-Mon: Velvet Lounge/Santa Ana 10PM
-Tue: Rage/West Hollywood 10PM
-Wed: Urban Mo’s/San Diego 8PM
-Thur: Executive Suites/Long Beach 9PM
-Fri: Hamburger Mary’s/Long Beach 9PM
-Sat: Bourbon Street/San Diego 8:30PM

 

Leave a Reply

