Madame LaQueer is Ready to Compete

madame-laqueer-rupauls-drag-race

Season 4 of RuPaul’s Drag Race is bound to unpredictable with the addition of Madame LaQueer to the runway. Madame LaQueer is not to be pidgeonholed in one style. Madame plans to keep you guessing on what she will do next. Are you ready?

Abby: Today we are getting to know the very funny Madame LaQueer. Madame LaQueer where in PR were you born?

Madame: In the worst hospital ever! Centro Medico in San Juan, Puerto Rico. I was almost delivered in the ladies room. I guess the smell of cheap powder made me eager to pop!!

Abby: Do you still live in Puerto Rico?

Madame: Yes. I live in Carolina, Puerto Rico in a humble suburbia. I’m the loudest member of my community! I live near a church. Some of the members look at me weirdly and talk between themselves, then turn around and smile with sympathy. I guess those ladies can’t take me!

Abby: Madame LaQueer you are a riot! I am asking all of the queens this question so you are not singled out. How do you stay in shape?

Madame: What shape? Ha! I love to eat. I embrace myself as a heavy queen. Not ashamed, neither embarrassed nor feeling “guilty.”

Abby: Glad to hear it.

Madame: Well sometimes at 4 AM when I am having a bowl of rice, beans and fried pork! I wouldn’t lose weight for anyone but for myself! And myself is feeling pretty happy the way she is. I was meant to be BIG!

Abby: Do you have a favorite form of exercise?

Madame: Video games! Just kidding. I like to walk. Or let’s put it this way, I have to walk.

Abby: Performing as a drag queen is no easy thing. Did you ever have stage fright?

Madame: At the beginning I was so shaky. I wasn’t afraid but my nerves just went down on me and let me have it. But thanks to a certain someone I learned a tricky way to overcome stage fright! I just pictured everyone in the audience naked. Now it just flows naturally. But there is always a rush when you are performing in a new place. I love it!

Abby: I am almost afraid to ask you this but what was the scariest thing that ever happened to you while in drag?

Madame:
I live in Puerto Rico. Can I make a list? I’ve been mugged in drag, stopped by policemen, broke my left wrist and twisted my right ankle! I have more. You want to hear?

Abby: Madame, people ask me why I spend so much time writing about drag queens or going to drag shows. I tell them that I have a great respect for what you do, and the guts it takes to do what you feel you need to do. If it wasn’t for the visibility of the drag queen the gay movement wouldn’t be anywhere near where it is today. So thank you, Madame LaQueer and all of your drag sisters for standing up for yourselves and in turn, all of the rest of us. I’m sorry that these things have happened to you and continue to happen to others. I am hoping that with continued visibility these incidences will decrease and then cease to happen all together.

Abby: Let’s lighten it up a little. What was your funniest experience buying women’s clothes?

Madame: We went to Culver City’s mall, and entered a black girl clothing store! I buy a lingerie. But we were in a hurry and I wanted to try it on. I remember that I went to the back and tried it on, and returned with the corset on to ask my sisters how it looked. The bitches were gone! The store was full of strangers! Every single eyeball turned into my attention. There was even a five second silence when I came out. Oh Lord! That was an epic fail!

Abby: Who has been your biggest drag inspiration and why?

Madame: Wow! I have many. First is Miss Nina! She gave this bitch a spot in her show so I could express myself. I looked busted, busted, busted! Crazy busted. Almost a joke. Then there is RuPaul being the first drag I’ve ever seen. I didn’t even know that To Wong Foo’s drag queens were actually men! That is one of my all time faves! And then there is Jackie Beat, a big queen to look up to! I love her drag, its unreal, funny and dramatic; just the way I wanted it to be mine. I will quote a Spanish actress when she said, “One will be even more unique, the moment you reach to be that person you dreamed yourself being!”

Abby: Manila Luzon said that the tallest contestant wins RPDR. How tall are you in your bare feet?

Madame: 5’7″ but my butt makes me look like 5’2″.

Abby: Madame LaQueer you crack me up. This could be a dangerous question but do you have any hobbies?

Madame: Uh, yes! I have two main ones. First I’m a gamer. X-Box Live Tag: LeMalvada. Add me and let’s kick some ass! Second is mixing! I love to mix music. For a drag event, runway you name it, music is everything. Good music makes any presentation stand out! That is my job and I love that. My music will always be a part of me.

Abby: What is your favorite drag expression?

Madame: Mami, werk it! I am the Great White Mami!

Abby: What was your favorite moment from any of the previous seasons of RPDR?

Madame: My fave moment? Shannel’s first lip-sync for your life, Raven’s first lip-sync for your life and Manila’s first lip-sync for your life! Those were epic moments in the history of RuPaul’s Drag Race!

Abby: Who did you want to win RPDR from season 1, 2 and 3?

Madame: Season 1, of course Nina. She was heads on my fave into a personal level! Season 2, I wanted JuJubee to win. And season 3, I wanted Alexis or Yara to win!

Abby: What is RuPaul’s Drag Race like?

Madame: RuPaul’s Drag Race is like good sex! Once you get hooked you can’t get away and it will always leave you wanting more!

Abby: Madame LaQueer you have left us wanting more. So where can we see you perform live?

Madame: I work at Krash Klub in San Juan, PR. Heaven and Hell in San Juan, PR. And Acquamares Club in Isabela, PR! When? You need to get in touch with my fan page to find out!

Abby: Thank you Madame. I love your sense of humor. I can’t wait to see how you do on RuPaul’s Drag Race season 4. Good luck to you! This is the link to Madame LaQueer’s fan page:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2774622439414&set=a.2137173783596.115928.1073645784&type=1&theater#!/pages/Madame-La-Queer/77786150813

Photos were used with permission of Logo TV Press Room.
Photo Credit: Mathu Andersen
.

Leave a Reply

