Latrice Royale is a Queen of Grace

Today we get to meet Latrice Royale from RuPaul’s Drag Race. Latrice didn’t grow up with the proverbial silver spoon in her mouth. Latrice has at times been down but that has made her tougher. Get ready RuPaul’s Drag Race fans for one fierce competitor!

latrice_royale02

 

Abby: Hi Latrice Royale!

Latrice: Hey Babe!

Abby: I see that you live in Hollywood and were born in California. You don’t live in Hollywood, California do you?

Latrice: No. I reside in beautiful sunny Hollywood, Florida. I’ve been here for over twenty years now. Wow!

Abby: You grew up in a pretty tough area. Would you talk about that?

Latrice: I was born in Torrence, California and raised in Compton. I am the youngest of five boys. My mother was a very strong woman. Growing up in Compton was really difficult for a little boy like me. I knew I was different but didn’t know what it was or what it even meant for that matter. I had brothers who were very involved with gangs, in fact, ran our neighborhood. It was easy for me not to ever want to be involved just by watching my brothers going in and out of jail or coming home with stab and bullet wounds. This made gang banging not an option. Once I got into middle school my mother bused me out of Compton and I went to school in Long Beach. She wanted a different life for me and it worked!

Abby: You definitely have a different life now! How does your family feel about you doing drag?

Latrice: The family is super excited about my career. Which is not very common considered the way I was raised. Also not very likely for a little black boy growing up in Compton!

Abby: What was the scariest thing that ever happened to you while in drag?

Latrice: Being pulled over while in drag. Your picture doesn’t match what the cop is looking at and there will be some follow up questions. Trust!

Abby: Who has been your biggest drag inspiration and why?

Latrice: Besides RuPaul, Tiffany Arieagus. She is a living legend and I got my start in her Drag Wars many years ago.

Abby: What was your funniest experience buying women’s clothes?

Latrice: You should see the looks on the women’s faces when I walk in the room. “You want a what? In a size who?”

Abby: You are a pretty big guy. Aren’t you the biggest contestant on any season of RPDR?

Latrice: I stand 6-4 ¾. I think I’m the biggest contestant ever!

latrice-royale1

 

Abby: If you could dress any celebrity in drag who would it be and what would you dress them in?

Latrice: I would love to put Adam Levine up in drag. I would put him in the most slutty little outfit. Maybe just a bra and little panties with some fishnets and spiked heels. Oh wait this a different kind of fantasy huh?

Abby: Latrice I am not your therapist so say what you want to say and we’ll see if it gets passed the editors.

What was your favorite moment from any of the previous seasons of RPDR?

Latrice: My favorite moment I think is season two’s highly elevated tempers of Mystique and Morgan. I lived and laughed a little!

Abby: That was a memorable moment for sure. Who did you want to win RPDR from season 1, 2 and 3?

Latrice: Well that’s a trap if I ever heard one. But I will play along. I wanted Nina for season 1, Tyra for season 2, and Manila Luzon for season 3.

Abby: What is RuPaul’s Drag Race like?

Latrice: RuPaul’s Drag Race is like No other competition in the World!

Abby: Latrice, I see you as having many amazing assets. What do you feel is your greatest asset?

Latrice: Truly, madly, deeply, my mind! As long as I can keep a good head on my shoulders, I know without a doubt, I’ll be okay in any situation.

Abby: I think you are going to be more than okay on RPDR. Thank you for taking the time to let me and all of your fans get to know a bit more about you. Latrice will you close by sharing your favorite drag saying?

Latrice: The shade, the shade of it all!

Abby: I love that. I look forward to seeing more of you on TV and at the Palace Bar in South Beach and Bills Filling Station in Wilton Manors every week. Thanks again Latrice!

 

 

Leave a Reply

